Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi

Raghuvanshi is a 2001 Ashoka Fellow. He was appointed as the state director for the European Union funded National Project on Prevention of Torture in 2006, in recognition of the reports published by PVCHR on torture incidents in the state. He drafted a Testimonial model for India along with Dr. Inger Agger, working further on dealing with torture. He was awarded the Gwangju Human Rights Award in 2007, along with Irom Sharmila. In 2008, he received ACHA Star Peace award from Association for Communal Harmony in Asia USA along with B. M. Kutty, Karamat Ali and Mubashir Mirza from Pakistan.In 2010, he was elected as the president for the Association of Cultural Harmony in Asia, USA. The City Council of Weimar, Germany, chose him for the 2010 International Human Rights award. In 2015, Lenin was invited at the Global Tolerance Forum in Drammen, Norway where he voiced his strong opinion on the contemporary political situation in India, showed deep concern about increasing hold of fundamentalist and extremists elements in Indian society. Dr. Lenin was awarded M.A. Thomas National Human Rights Award, 2016 for his contribution in struggle for the rights of marginalized community, particularly the dalits and adivasis. Recognizing his contribution for the promotion and protection of the children’s rights, Wockhardt foundation selected him as a Child Rights Activist of the year in a nationwide online voting